NSAC Working Groups and Focus Groups

The work of the NSAC is delivered by 3 Working Groups Demersal, Skagerrak & Kattegat and Spatial Planning. These groups each meet 2 to 4 times a year to consider and discuss a number of current and emerging topics and to develop advice and policy on behalf of the NSAC membership. Once finalised, advice developed by the Working Groups is presented to the Executive Committee for approval.

A Working Group may be supported by a number of Focus Groups. Focus Groups are smaller groups which are set up to draft advice on one specific topic. Focus Groups are flexible in their approach drawing in representatives and experts from a number of sources including scientists, fishers, environmental specialists, economists and others. They are short lived, concluding once the piece of work they are addressing is finalised. Where a Focus Group has a high number of members a smaller group may be appointed to work on the drafting of advice.

Chairmen of the Working Groups are;
Demersal – Barrie Deas
Skagerrak & Kattegat – Carl Jesper Hermansen
Spatial Planning – Euan Dunn


Permanent link to this article: http://www.nsrac.org/about-nsrac/nsrac-working-groups-2/