The NSAC is governed by a General Assembly and an Executive Committee with distinct roles.


All NSAC members are part of the General Assembly, and they appoint an Executive Committee of 25 members to oversee and sign-off on the work of the NSAC in terms of advice provision and working groups structure. There is no limit to the number of General Assembly members, and the Assembly typically meets once per year. The Chair of the NSAC General Assembly is Guus Pastoor, AIPCE.


As with all other Advisory Councils, the Executive Committee membership must represent a 60% / 40% balance between organisations with fishing interests and other interest groups. This gives fishing members 15 seats and other interest groups 10 seats in the Executive Committee. Of the 15 seats for fishing members, 11 are currently occupied, leaving 4 vacancies and of the 10 seats for other interest groups, 3 are occupied, leaving 7 vacancies.

The Executive Committee meets three times per year, and is chaired by Kenn Skau Fischer of the Danish Fishermen PO. There are two Vice-Chairs of the Executive Committee, these posts are currently held by Peter Breckling, German Fisheries Association, with one vacancy for OIGs.


We currently have 26 General Assembly members, of which 19 represent fishing industry interests, and 7 other interest groups (OIGs).

The 3 new NSAC members are: European Fishmeal and Fish Oil Producers (EFFOP), FSK-PO and German Angling Association.
Whereby EFFOP is replacing Marine Ingredients Denmark.

If you are interested in contributing to the North Sea Fisheries and Conservation Policy, please contact the Secretariat.


Union des Armateurs á la Pêche de France (UAPF)

Union des Armateurs á la Pêche de France (UAPF)

Executive Committee Member
(Fishing Industry)

Contact Us

The NSAC prepares and provides advice on the management of fisheries in the North Sea on behalf of its members; fisheries organisations and other stakeholders including environmental organisations. If you are interested in joining the NSAC, or finding out more about our work, get in touch.

Contact Us

We use third-party cookies to personalise content and analyse site traffic.

Learn more